Driving beneath the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is just a serious crime that carries stiff penalties in Maine. If you should be convicted of a DUI, you can be facing jail time, hefty fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license. Understanding the state’s maine dui laws might help ensure that you stay safe on the roads and avoid any legal trouble. Here’s an breakdown of the thing you need to understand about portland maine criminal defense lawyers.
Maine’s Legal Drinking Limit
In Maine, it is illegal for drivers 21 years of age and over to work a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) degree of .08% or higher. For drivers under 21 years old, the legal drinking limit is a lot lower—just .02%. Drivers which can be found operating an automobile with either of the BAC levels will be faced with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Additionally, all drivers must submit to chemical tests if requested by law enforcement officers after being arrested for suspected drunk driving. Refusal to submit to such tests can result in additional penalties and fines.
Consequences for DUIs
The results for DUIs be determined by whether or not it is your first offense. For first-time offenders, they might face as much as 364 days in jail and fines which range from $500-$2,000. Furthermore, their driver’s license may also be suspended for 90 days. For second-time offenders within 10 years of these first offense, they could face 5 years in prison and fines between $1,000-$4,000 in addition to having their license suspended for approximately 2 years. In regards to third-time offenders within 10 years of the previous convictions, they are able to face 10 years in prison with fines ranging from $2,000-$5,000 while having their license suspended for 6 years.
Implied Consent Law
Under Maine’s implied consent law drivers are needed by law to submit to chemical tests when asked by police force officers following an arrest made on suspicion of drunk driving. Refusal to take such tests can result in additional penalties including increased punishment if convicted in addition to suspension of one’s driver’s license for approximately 3 years even if she or he was found not guilty at trial because of lack of evidence obtained from chemical testing results.Furthermore, refusal can be used against someone during trial if he or she refuses before being given Miranda warnings and again after being informed by law enforcement officers concerning the implied consent law.
Understanding the DUI laws in Maine is important so you can stay safe on the roads and avoid any legal trouble in case you ever get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol or drugs. The legal BAC limit is .08% or older for anyone 21 and over whilst it drops down significantly at just .02% for many who are younger than 21. Additionally, refusing chemical tests can result in additional penalties even if one isn’t guilty due to lack of evidence obtained through testing results which helps explain why one must conform to such requests when asked by law enforcement officers following an arrest made under suspicion of drunk driving based on implied consent laws in this state. As it pertains time getting behind the wheel remember not merely can it be illegal but it could cost you dearly too!